Spanish B1 Level by May 2016 [Spanish TAC 2016]

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
haziz
Orange Belt
Languages: English (L2 but at native level - my primary language), Spanish (Beginner - ?A1), Egyptian Arabic (N but not using the language), Modern Standard Arabic (?C1 passive/reading, A2 active/writing - also not using), French (Studied in school but retained very little).
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=19722

Spanish B1 Level by May 2016 [Spanish TAC 2016]

Postby haziz » Sun Nov 15, 2015 12:52 pm

I started learning Spanish last year in May. After a couple of months of very enthusiastic self study, I took two poorly run and very hectic courses (they were trying to cram 1 semester of material into 1 month) at a local community college that managed to utterly crush my enthusiasm and led me to abandon my studying of the language.

I restarted two weeks ago, I am back at self study. I would have set myself a goal of B1 level of comfort with Spanish by 6 months, but I then noted that there is a sitting for the DELE exam available in late May of 2016. I figure that what I did last year probably does count for at least one and a half months of study, even if I do have to revise the material again. I have always found in my professional career that choosing to take an exam, as opposed to being required to take one, generally focused my goals and aided in motivating me to self study. I, therefore, am setting myself the goal of taking the DELE in May of 2016, preferably at the B1 level, but the A2 level would also be acceptable. I will decide on the level when the window for registering opens up in February or March using their sample test papers as a rough guide. I will generally aim for about one level above my comfort zone, hence setting myself up a goal to aim for.