Jmar257's Language Log (ES, FR, DE) - Super Challenge, Assimil, and more

Continue or start your personal language log here, including logs for challenge participants
jmar257
Green Belt
Languages: English (N), español (Intermediate), français (Lower Intermediate), deutsch (beginner)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... hp?t=15645

Jmar257's Language Log (ES, FR, DE) - Super Challenge, Assimil, and more

Postby jmar257 » Tue Jul 14, 2020 2:47 pm

So, I finally got around to starting this. I'll try to update this at least once a week and use it to get some practice writing in the languages I'm studying, although sometimes I'll probably just want to post in English (and this intro post is going to be entirely in English). I have studied languages on and off for years, making not enough progress, but the past year or so I've really buckled down and have made a good bit of progress and enjoyed it more than I ever have before. I tend to stick to one course at a time for a given language, while also doing flashcards/reading/listening on the side.

Anyway, some history:

Spanish
I've gone through Michel Thomas' courses, Language Transfer, Assimil With Ease and Using, and I'm currently going through FSI Spanish Basic. I'm on lesson 51, and primarily chose this to tighten up some grammar and practice drilling/speaking automaticity. In addition I've been reading a good bit and watching some TV on the side, but I'm very ADD with TV so I tend to read more (in English as well). I'm currently signed up for a full Super Challenge for Spanish, and will post updates on that eventually. As expected, I'm ahead with reading and behind on films :lol: I've had an iTalki lesson in Spanish a few months ago, which went better than I expected (on my part), but have slacked doing it since. I need to rectify this and hope starting a log will get me to quit being lazy in that regard.

Currently reading: En La Mira
Currently Watching: Club de Cuervos

French