"exceeded maximum number of log in attempts"

Discuss technical problems and features here
jacquemarie
White Belt
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 7:30 pm
Languages: English (N), Italian (intermediate), Mandarin (beginner), Egyptian Arabic (beginner).
x 51

"exceeded maximum number of log in attempts"

Postby jacquemarie » Tue Nov 10, 2020 2:02 pm

Whenever I try to log in, it always tells me I've exceeded the maximum number of log in attempts. Whether I have my un/pw autofilled or I manually type them in, I have to re do it and solve a captcha. It's not a big deal, but mildly annoying and inconvenient.

Is this happening to anyone else? Is it something with my browser (Chrome) that I can change so it stops doing that? LOL It also logs me out after like 3-4 pages even if I click remember me from time to time
1 x

User avatar
Ogrim
Blue Belt
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 10:29 am
Location: Alsace, France
Languages: Norwegian (N) English (C2), French (C2), Spanish (C2), German (B2), Romansh (B2), Italian (B2), Catalan (B2), Russian (B1), Latin (B1), Dutch (B1), Arabic (learning), Romanian (kind of learning)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/viewtopic.php?t=873
x 3021

Re: "exceeded maximum number of log in attempts"

Postby Ogrim » Tue Nov 10, 2020 2:19 pm

Yes this happens to me as well quite often. It is part of the admins' effort to keep spammers away. I don't think it matters what browser you use, I've had those messages both in Safari and Microsoft Edge.

I agree it is annoying, but I also understand the need to stop spammers accessing the forum.
0 x
Ich grolle nicht

User avatar
MorkTheFiddle
Brown Belt
Posts: 1152
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 8:59 pm
Location: usa
Languages: English (N). Read (only) French and Spanish. Studying Ancient Greek, aiming for mastery by 2424. Studying a bit of Latin and Japanese. Once studied Old Norse. Dabbled in Catalan, Provençal and Italian.
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 11#p133911
x 2016

Re: "exceeded maximum number of log in attempts"

Postby MorkTheFiddle » Tue Nov 10, 2020 5:31 pm

It affects me, too. I think it affects everyone, so you are not alone nor being singled out.
0 x
Tu sabes cuando sales pero no sabes cuando regresas.

User avatar
lingua
Blue Belt
Posts: 693
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 11:23 pm
Languages: English (N)
Maintaining italiano (B2ish)
Studying português, Deutsch, français
Dabbling in siciliano, Latina, piemontèis
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=12257
x 986

Re: "exceeded maximum number of log in attempts"

Postby lingua » Tue Nov 10, 2020 8:25 pm

I also get them. Not every time but most of the time. I didn't realize it was by design.
0 x
Super Challenge:
IT film: 2430 / 18000 read: 3596 / 10000
DE film: 3880 / 9000 read: 0 / 5000
Romance Family film: 3666 / 9000 read: 0 / 5000 (FR, PT, PMS, SCN)

Output Challenge:
IT wrote: 2189 / 100000 recorded: 224 / 6000
DE wrote: 2216 / 50000 recorded: 21 / 3000
PT wrote: 1909 / 50000 recorded: 13 / 3000
FR wrote: 657 / 50000 recorded: 0 / 3000

User avatar
tangleweeds
Green Belt
Posts: 366
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 7:09 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Languages: English (N)
beginner: Irish, Norwegian
clearing cobwebs: Japanese
on the shelf: French, Latin
wanderlust: Vietnamese
Language Log: viewtopic.php?t=705
x 882

Re: "exceeded maximum number of log in attempts"

Postby tangleweeds » Tue Nov 10, 2020 8:39 pm

Yeah, I think it's an added homebrew layer of spammer-block.

I used to think something was malfunctioning since I hadn't been logging in repeatedly, but eventually realized it was basically a human-logic capcha to keep out robots.
0 x
Irish & Japanese are on vacation for the 11/2020 6WC
Wanderlust: still Vietnamese

User avatar
rdearman
Site Admin
Posts: 5307
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 4:18 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Languages: English (N)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1836
x 13468
Contact:

Re: "exceeded maximum number of log in attempts"

Postby rdearman » Tue Nov 10, 2020 11:13 pm

It is a captcha. But actually the problem is we are running across 6 AWS servers not just on one monolith server. Which means we use load balances across severs. Sometimes the cookies used to track your sessions between machines screws up and it makes you relogin. So the load balance has pushed you to a less loaded server, but lost your session data. Very annoying for everyone, but we have too many concurrent users to have a single server.

EMK wants to change the load config, but doesn't have time right now.
7 x


Return to “Technical Support and Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests