Travel to India - Learn basic Hindi

This is a room for the discussion of travel plans or experiences and the culture of places you have visited or plan to visit.
outcast
Blue Belt
Languages: ~
FLUENCY
Native: ENglish, ESpañol
Advanced: -
High Basic: DEutsch (rust), FRançais (rust), ZH中文
Basic: -
~
ACQUIRING
Formally: KO한국말, ITaliano, HI हिन्दी
Dabbling: HRvatski, GW粵語
Dormant: POrtuguês
~
Plan to learn: I BETTER NOT GO HERE FOR NOW
~

Travel to India - Learn basic Hindi

Postby outcast » Tue Dec 08, 2015 8:07 am

Hello all,

So I have been in China for 3 months now, this is my first time going to a country where my target language is spoken, as I learned French, German, and Portuguese back home. The true immersion experience has been extremely helpful, and the gains more rapid than in the other languages (even though Chinese is more difficult from my linguistic relative background). More importantly, I have discovered new cultures and ideas and that is truly priceless.

Which brings me to Hindi. I have stated before (well not here, in the old HTLAL forums), that I want to learn Hindi, Russian, Italian, and some other language after my main language life mission of French, German, Portuguese, and Chinese to B2-C1 fluency is over (I have been at it since 2009). It's hard to believe but this project is slowly coming to an end, as I am reaching those goals, even as I still have some ways to go. Unlike the last 5+ years, were learning my four target languages has been a full-time job, the latter languages would be hobbies as I tackle the challenges of career and life in general. So my goals are more muted, but still rewarding (B1 in Hindi, Russian, Italian).