Languages: English (N)
Shona (N)
French (DELF B2)
German (Goethe-Zertifikat B2)
Spanish (DELE B2)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=8686

General Méthode 90 Course Discussion

Postby Skynet » Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:50 pm

I am opening this thread to discuss one of the least-mentioned courses on the forum. To describe mentions of Méthode 90 as being ephemeral is a gross understatement. Whilst they were designed in French like Assimil's Perfectionnement series, they remain largely unknown.

I managed to find these threads (with a lot of assistance) from the seemingly moribund HTLAL (YIKES! That site could stop working at any time! :cry: ):

Méthode 90 - Le Russe, Editions of Méthode 90 courses and Methode 90 materials

I own Méthode 90 allemand (this one) and went through the first 15 lessons to compare it with the three Assimil German courses that I am currently studying. I am extremely impressed by this course and would further posit (preliminary) that it may be better than Assimil's crowning jewel, German Without Toil.

I would like to formally extend an invitation to those who have used any of the myriad M90 courses to share their experiences with them, and wherever possible, to make a comparison to/with any of the "Big Three" language courses: Assimil, Linguaphone, Living Language Ultimate.
9 x

ClaireB
Languages: French (Native), English (C1), Japanese (B2), German (B2), Russian (A2), Spanish (beginner), Italian (beginner), Danish (beginner)

Re: General Méthode 90 Course Discussion

Postby ClaireB » Sat Nov 24, 2018 5:45 pm

I am a huge fan of the original Méthode 90 books. I own copies of the russian, german, italian, spanish, arabic, portuguese, dutch and chinese course. I think you could split them in “generations”, like you would Assimil :

First generation courses are available in german, spanish, italian, russian and english (I don’t have a copy of that one). The course is split in groups of ten lessons (instead