immersive vocabulary acquisition

All about language programs, courses, websites and other learning resources
osmo
Languages: English

immersive vocabulary acquisition

Postby osmo » Sun Aug 26, 2018 12:23 pm

Hey

I've been toying with this idea for about two years - a language learning plugin for chrome that passively replaces vocabulary in your native language with words in your target language.

I've invested a fair bit of time working on promotional materials, preparing to launch a kickstarter, and the like, but what I really want to know is whether this seems like a useful tool to have in your language learning arsenal.

I think it's cool - I would use it - but I know I am not going to have the same learning style as everyone. Technically, it's not too hard to build - I've coded a pretty basic demo version myself, and I am confident that with a little bit of support and elbow grease, a stable version could be made pretty quickly.

The question is: do you think people would be interested in it? Or is it already too similar to tools already available?

Here's the promotional video if you're interested. I would be really grateful for any feedback or suggestions.

@Mods, I did read the pinned post about messaging the mods first if you're new, but I actually couldn't PM anyone. If this post is not the kind of thing that should go here: I apologise.
2 x

Axon
Blue Belt
Languages: Native English, in order of comfort: Mandarin, German, Indonesian,
Spanish, French, Russian,
Cantonese, Vietnamese, Polish.
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=5086

Re: immersive vocabulary acquisition

Postby Axon » Sun Aug 26, 2018 2:13 pm

I really like the video!

You mention that there are other, similar tools out there, and indeed there have been extensions like that for most browsers for at least six years. How is your product different?
1 x

devilyoudont
Blue Belt
Languages: EN (N), EO (C), JA (B), ES (A)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=16424