Elfdalian books out of copyright pdf's

All about language programs, courses, websites and other learning resources
Rigognos Molinarios
Languages: English (N), Latin (intermediate), Ancient Greek (B2)

Elfdalian books out of copyright pdf's

Postby Rigognos Molinarios » Tue Aug 08, 2017 12:43 pm

Hello, I am an editor on my spare time for Wiktionary and I am having a hard time finding books on Elfdalian (or Älvdalsk as it is called in Sweden). My main problem seems to be that most of the reading material is Swedish so I do not know where to search first. I have been trying to find works written in Elfdalian or about Elfdalian prior to the first quarter or the 21st century (when Elfdalian was still widely spoken in Älvdalen). So far I have found a pdf for Lars Levander's grammar (It should be out of copyright at least in Sweden) and a pdf for Johannis Prytz's En Lustigh Comoedia om Konung Gustaf den Första (available for free through Google books). Because Levander's text is a grammar an is arranged in a logical format with many easily translatable Latinate terms, it has been easy to work with in spite of being written in Swedish. The play by Prytz, however, has been difficult if not impossible to work with. The text is written in a hard to read and very ornate blackletter font and only a small section of the work is in Elfdalian.
The next book I have learned was written about Elfdalian more than one hundred years ago was a collection of wedding poems (or bröllopsdikter as they are called in Swedish). The book is titled Bröllopsdikter på Dialekt och Några Andra Dialektdikter från 1600- och 1700-Talen edited by Hesselman, Bengt and Lundell, Johan August published in 1937. Unfortunately I have not been able to find any pdf's for this book and I am not even sure if it is out of copyright in Sweden yet.