Italian Intermediate Coursebooks

All about language programs, courses, websites and other learning resources
kanewai
Blue Belt
Languages: Native: English
Active: Italian
Maintenance: Spanish, French
Priors: Chuukese (Micronesian), Indonesian, Latin, Greek (epic and modern), Turkish, Arabic

Italian Intermediate Coursebooks

Postby kanewai » Fri Oct 30, 2020 2:37 am

I'm looking for a good, solid intermediate-level Italian course book, and I'm frustrated by what I've found so far. I've been consuming Italian media for a couple years (novels and podcasts), and using online programs like Speakly. I'm at a point where I could use a good old-fashioned course with grammar and drills. I've looked through the forums, and still can't find the right course for me.

The Nuovo Magari books are the closest I've found, but when I looked at a sample lesson I wasn't super impressed. There were a lot of pictures, and a lot of white space, and only a few actual drills, per page. Has anyone used this series?

The previews for the Nuovo Espresso series did not impress me, and it looks like the books are designed for a classroom.

I've thought about trying Assimil's Perfectionnement Italien, but I've found that I get impatient with their intermediate series courses. I might splurge on it if I don't find anything else, but I'm hoping to find something a bit more focused. I like Assimil, I just don't know if it's what I need right now.

Ideally, I'd like to find something along the lines of the French CLE courses, or the online Kwiziq for Spanish and French. At this point I'm not even sure if what I want exists!
2 x
Super Challenge - 50 books
Italian: 11 / 50
Spanish: 50 / 50
French: 16 / 50

lingua
Blue Belt
Languages: English (N)
Maintaining: italiano (B2/C1ish)
Studying: português, Latina
Dabbling: siciliano, Deutsch, français, piemontèis
Abandoned: ไทย, español
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=12257

Re: Italian Intermediate Coursebooks