Visits to the Doctor in German

All about language programs, courses, websites and other learning resources
Speakeasy

Visits to the Doctor in German

Postby Speakeasy » Fri Oct 23, 2015 10:10 pm

I hope that this post is not braking any Forum Rules. My intention is not to promote a particular product. Nonetheless, since many Forum Members studying German are unlikely to discover the book discussed below on their own, it is rather difficult to mention it without seeming to promote it, nicht wahr?

I have been studying German, as an independent-learner, for a few years and am probably somewhere around the CEFR B1-B2 level of competence. One aspect of the introductory and intermediate materials available for self-study that has surprised me is that the situational dialogues and vocabulary surrounding “visits to the doctor” are often limited to very elementary statements such as “I have a headache, I have a sore throat, it hurts here, I am giving you a prescription” whereas my real-world experience informs that (1) very few people would seek medical attention for such vague or minor complaints, particularly during a short visit to a German-speaking country, and (2) a much wider vocabulary would be required for communicating one’s more serious complaints to medical staff and for understanding their responses. Consequently, when I came across “Deutsch für Mediziner”, quite by accident, I suspected that it would present me with an opportunity to widen my vocabulary for dealing with medical professionals and assist me generally in improving my spoken German. The fact that the book is accompanied by audio recordings, for which transcriptions are included, was an additional attraction for me. The book seems to be part of series of texts for medical professionals and for others desirous of improving their German. I stumbled upon it, quite by accident, on Amazon.de. http://www.amazon.de/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_c_0_14/279-6203432-9596830?__mk_de_DE=%C3%85M%C3%85%C5%BD%C3%95%C3%91&url=se