Thimm’s Self-Taught Series: Nature Method (sic) (1840’s – 1920’s)

All about language programs, courses, websites and other learning resources
Speakeasy

Thimm’s Self-Taught Series: Nature Method (sic) (1840’s – 1920’s)

Postby Speakeasy » Wed Oct 09, 2019 12:53 am

Nature Method Language Courses
The “Nature Method”, as defined in the 19th century, remains popular amongst many independent language-learners. Recently, whilst scouring the internet in search of vintage language-materials, I happened upon the “Thimm’s Self-Taught” series which, according to the authors, employed the Nature Method. There are numerous booklets in which the notation “Thimm’s System” appears in the title, attributed to a large number of authors other than Franz Thimms and Carl Thimms, the originators of the series.

Franz J.L. Thimm’s Self-Taught Series
In the mid-1840’s, language teacher and linguist, Franz J.L. Thimm (1820-1889), introduced his own variant of the “Nature Method” for the self-instruction of foreign languages. The most frequently-appearing title in the series was “[Language] Self-Taught : a New System on the Most Simple Principles for Universal Self-tuition, with English Pronunciation of Every Word”. Language courses attributed to Franz Thimms, available for study from an English base, were: Afrikaans, French, German, Italian, Spanish and perhaps others. The course booklets, either hard-covered or soft- covered, measured approximately 5-7/8 -inches x 8-1/4-inches and contained from 80 to 130 pages. The booklets were published by several publishers located in New York and London and they were reprinted, by permission, under the series name “Marlborough Self-Taught System”.

Carl A. Thimm’s Self-Taught Series