How many years does it take to learn the second language as your native?

Practice your target languages here.
Ольга
Green Belt
Languages: English, French, German, Greek, Portuguese
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=6206

How many years does it take to learn the second language as your native?

Postby Ольга » Fri Jun 02, 2017 6:15 pm

I have been studying English for 7 years. University (linguistics) +self-learning.
And I am still like a beginner! I am as stupid as an owl!
0 x
Output Challenge 2018
Hours of Recorded Speech: 0 / 50
Words: 4732 / 50000

iguanamon
Black Belt - 2nd Dan
Languages: Speaks: English (Native); Spanish (C2); Portuguese (C2); Haitian Creole (C1); Ladino/Djudeo-espanyol (C1); Lesser Antilles French Creole (B2)
Studies: Catalan (B2)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?t=797

Re: How many years does it take to learn the second language as your native?

Postby iguanamon » Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:48 pm

I can't tell you how long it will take you to improve. I don't know enough about your studies to really give you good advice. Please don't put yourself down. You can improve your English but it will take time and effort. How much time, I don't know and can't tell you, but if you do the necessary work to improve your weaknesses, given your good knowledge base of written English, I'd say you could make great progress in six months to a year with concentrated effort.