Starting Spanish, Slowly Improving French

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
stwhite1988

Starting Spanish, Slowly Improving French

Postby stwhite1988 » Wed Nov 28, 2018 2:24 pm

Hi All,

I have finally reached my target of B2 in French. Well I'm presuming that I passed the DELF exam last week but I will find out for sure in January.

I would like to start learning Spanish with a trip to Mexico next March in mind.
It has been so long since I started learning French so I'm kinda unsure how to start Spanish so any feedback would be appreciated.

From browsing through the forums I see these two resources mentioned a lot:
Assimil e-method
Gramatica de uso del espanol

If I can reach a B level by March I would be delighted. I could commit to 1 hour a day of 'at-my-desk' study, and potentially several hours a day of listening while at work.

Given my target, is there anything you would recommend in addition to my resources?
Also, is there any beginner listening podcasts that you would recommend?

I would also like to slowly improve my French during this period. My plan is to talk for one hour per week via Skype, and to continue to read and watch TV everyday in French.

Many thanks in advance,

Stephen
4 x

Deinonysus
Brown Belt
Languages:  
• Native: English
• Advanced: French
• Intermediate: German,
   Spanish, Hebrew
• Beginner: Italian,
   Arabic

Re: Starting Spanish, Slowly Improving French

Postby Deinonysus » Wed Nov 28, 2018 3:51 pm

Good luck on the test results!

If you use Assimil I would recommend their traditional book and audio courses. That's how they've been doing it for decades and decades. I haven't heard good things about the e-method.