Moving on with French

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
lusan
Green Belt
Languages: Spanish(Native)
English (Naïve)
French(Intermediate)
Italian(Intermediate)
Polish(In Alcatraz)

Moving on with French

Postby lusan » Sun Nov 04, 2018 4:48 pm

The feeling of getting there after a long fight! I have been studying Polish already for 3+ years. It is a very hard journey, but everything is as per my schedule. My routine, beside Anki review which I do at the gym, I read aloud 1 h -Novels- and I listen Audio books (while reading in English and Polish.) My year end target is listening Audio while reading in Polish. Yesterday I took book 1 of Harry Potter and I began listening the Audio. I shocked that I understood between 80-100 %. I was very happy! So I am already there. Since my native language is Spanish, Polish would be my third. So I feel that I am ready to start my fourth. Of course, I will keep going deeper into Polish using only native materials. -Which I already do. I really need to improve Polish listening skills.

I hesitate between German and French. German is attractive because sometimes I visit the place, but I do not see myself reading German books. French is more likely candidate since I love Rimbaud and Vailane's poetry. Also I see myself reading French literature. Speaking? I doubt it. I have not need. 40 years ago I used to speak some level of French and even today I could understand/read plenty because of French is a romance language.

After dealing with Polish, I am convinced that I prefer an oral way of learning language AND I hate Pismleur method -overly expensive. I think listening is essential from the very beginning and I do not want to create more than 3000 French Anki's cards. The point is to get to the basic and move on into books and poetry.

Objectives:

Speaking: A2
Listening: B1
Reading: B2+
Writing: No Interest

Study time: 30 min for 1 full year.
Method:
1. Assimil
2. Anki
3. Clozemaster ?