Learning Russian as a high schooler in the U.S?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
EthanH
White Belt
Languages: Languages: English (N), Spanish (B2), German (Beginner[current]), Russian (Postponed till I'm B1-B2 in German)

Learning Russian as a high schooler in the U.S?

Postby EthanH » Tue Oct 30, 2018 12:10 am

Hello everyone!

My name is Ethan and I am very interested in learning Russian; however, I have no idea where to start. I figured I would come on to a website, where people could guide me in the right direction. I do not have a lot of money at my disposal and was wondering where I could begin my journey to learn Russian, without breaking my bank account. Does anyone have any good recommendations for books and courses that would develop my speaking, writing, reading and listening skills?

(I have no experience with Russian, I am a native English speaker if this helps)

Thank you, anything helps!
1 x
“The English language was carefully, carefully cobbled together by three blind dudes and a German dictionary,” - Dave Kellett

drmweaver2
Yellow Belt
Languages: English (N), Russian (A1/A2), German (A1/A2)
Spanish(HS/college, maybe A2- now extinct), Japanese(lvl-0, even that's long forgotten), Thai (absolute beginner...not even A0)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=8997

Re: Learning Russian as a high schooler in the U.S?

Postby drmweaver2 » Tue Oct 30, 2018 1:17 pm

First, good luck.
Now... to me, the obvious place to start would be to look at the Russian Study Group's Resources list. See post #2 here: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =26&t=5204

Then, after probably 2-5 days of following and reading the links (and reading reviews both on this board and from around the Net) of the places you can download free materials, pick one. It's pretty much that simple. (Don't we all wish?) :lol:

Here, I'll start you off: