Maybe interested in getting a Master's Degree in Library Information Services

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
atcprunner
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Mandarin (C1), French (B2), Spanish (B2), Russian (B1), German (B2), Old English, Latin
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=4381

Maybe interested in getting a Master's Degree in Library Information Services

Postby atcprunner » Thu Oct 11, 2018 1:22 am

A bit of background on myself:
I've been teaching English (my native language) for a while now and I've gotten a few practical qualifications, such as the CELTA and Trinity Diploma in TESOL. I also work as a CELTA tutor (a specific niche of teacher training).

I'm interested in getting a Master's Degree in something that can open the doors to being able to work with many languages. Besides teaching and translation, I've been thinking of how it might be to work in a library handling archives in different languages.

Does anyone have any experience with this or know anyone who works with meta data and information retrieval systems?

I'm wondering if it would be a useful track for me.
1 x
SC French Books Full: 29 / 100
SC Spanish Books Full: 13 / 100
SC German Books Full: 36 / 100
SC Russian Books Full: 0 / 100
SC Mandarin Books Full: 0 / 100

Xenops
Brown Belt
Languages: English (N), Danish (A2), Japanese (rusty), Nansha (constructing)
On break: Japanese (approx. N4), Norwegian (A2)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=16797

Re: Library Information Services and Languages

Postby Xenops » Thu Oct 11, 2018 5:55 pm

atcprunner wrote:A bit of background on myself:
I've been teaching English (my native language) for a while now and I've gotten a few practical qualifications, such as the CELTA and Trinity Diploma in TESOL. I also work as a CELTA tutor (a specific niche of teacher training).