Study plan for Arabic

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
Purangi
Orange Belt
Languages: French, English, Mandarin, Russian, Spanish

Study plan for Arabic

Postby Purangi » Fri Oct 05, 2018 8:15 pm

Hello! Long time reader and fan of the forum, but this is my first post.

I had the chance to travel in a number of Arabic countries in the last few years and I have become increasingly interested in learning the language. I have zero experience with the script and no knowledge of any Semitic language, so it would be quite an adventure if I decide to go forward with this project.

I am looking for advice from people who have tackled Arabic before. If you could go back to your very first steps in Arabic*, what approach/plan would you recommend and what would you do differently? What are some of the best ressources available and in what order would you organize them?

*I use Arabic here knowing that there is a difference between MSA and the dialects, and this is also part of my questions: where should I begin?
1 x

StringerBell
Brown Belt
Languages: English (n)
Italian

Re: Study plan for Arabic

Postby StringerBell » Fri Oct 05, 2018 9:30 pm

I don't have any personal advice on Arabic, but this post reminded me of the article on the Mezzofanti Guild site with the title "If I Started Learning Arabic Again, This is How I'd Do It": https://www.mezzoguild.com/how-to-start ... ng-arabic/

Donovan has a bunch of articles about learning Arabic, and I've found his posts to be quite useful even when they were about learning languages that I'm not interested in.
4 x
Season 4 Lucifer Italian transcripts I created: https://learnanylanguage.fandom.com/wik ... ranscripts

Ogrim
Brown Belt
Languages: Norwegian (N) English (C2), French (C2), Spanish (C2), German (B2), Romansh (B2), Italian (B2), Catalan (B2), Russian (B1), Latin (B2), Dutch (B1), Croatian (A2), Arabic (on hold), Ancient Greek (learning), Romanian (on hold)