Vocab, MindMaps and Conversational Islands

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
drmweaver2
Yellow Belt
Languages: English (N), Russian (A1/A2), German (A1/A2)
Spanish(HS/college, maybe A2- now extinct), Japanese(lvl-0, even that's long forgotten), Thai (absolute beginner...not even A0)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=8997

Vocab, MindMaps and Conversational Islands

Postby drmweaver2 » Wed Oct 03, 2018 2:20 pm

Probably nothing earth-shattering or even new to anyone in particular, but I "re-discovered" MindMaps for learning vocab this morning.
I ran across this one while developing a conversational island relating to myself and introductions. (Sorry I don't know how to make it smaller for this forum.)
Source:https://licenalninethgrade.blogspot.com/2014/02/introducing-myself.html

It can be expanded logically to cover familial terms (relationships, marital status, legal status(like adoptions), births, deaths, etc.), geography (where I've lived, worked, traveled, etc.), professions (jobs in general, jobs I've had, etc.), education-related terms, and on and on.

Do you guys make much use of this or similar tool(s)?:?:
Or, if you don't use something like this, how do you learn/remember related terms/conversational islands?
6 x
I'm going to read Lord of the Rings in Russian - Me (some time ago)
Never say something is impossible. Everytime, there is a moron who doesn't know it's impossible, so he goes and does it.-Cavesa -Sat Nov 04, 2017 1:45 pm

Iversen
Black Belt - 4th Dan
Languages: Monolingual travels in Danish, English, German, Dutch, Swedish, French, Portuguese, Spanish, Catalan, Italian, Romanian and (part time) Esperanto
Ahem, not yet: Norwegian, Afrikaans, Platt, Scots, Russian, Serbian, Bulgarian, Albanian, Greek, Latin, Irish, Indonesian and a few more...
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1027

Re: Vocab, MindMaps and Conversational Islands

Postby Iversen » Fri Oct 05, 2018 9:35 am