Efficacy of "stacking" programs

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
drmweaver2
Yellow Belt
Languages: English (N), Russian (A1/A2), German (A1/A2)
Spanish(HS/college, maybe A2- now extinct), Japanese(lvl-0, even that's long forgotten), Thai (absolute beginner...not even A0)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=8997

Efficacy of "stacking" programs

Postby drmweaver2 » Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:40 pm

I've done a fair bit of reading about methods in terms of "return on investment". Persistence and repetition seem to be the overriding aspects discussed and/or researched.

I'm pretty sure that three audio-based courses (Glossika, Pimsleur, Assimil) do not overlap 100% with each other in terms of either dialogs, vocab or grammar points if you start each course on calendar Day 1. Considering each also "progresses" through similar material at different speeds as well as being intended for different rates of completion of their entire course(s) (ex., Glosskia Russian 1-3 versus Pimsleur Russian 1-4 [I don't know how long the Assimil Russian course 'lasts']).

I'm curious, though, about efficacy in language learning with regard to "stacking" all three, fairly similar, courses throughout a single day. For example, is there a gain or penalty for doing a Glossika course in the morning and a Pimsleur course in the afternoon? I can see there should be a benefit if you do Anki/SRS work relating to the words in either course that same day. But would the different vocab and grammar work in the same language interfere with or be a benefit to "stacking" like this.... (Not sure why I like the term "stacking" here. It just seems to fit.)

Is it a reasonable "process" to consider pursuing?
I AM doing other things as well but haven't reached the 1000-word usable vocabulary point yet.

Now consider adding a third session of audio-based work in the same language using the Assimil audio recordings after dinner/supper.