How do you plunge into learning a language? What is the general study plan for a language?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
speechhelp
Languages: English (N)
German (B2)

How do you plunge into learning a language? What is the general study plan for a language?

Postby speechhelp » Mon Sep 10, 2018 6:33 pm

Hello all!
I think the first steps are learning how to read/ write/ pronounce it's alphabet.
In my opinion if you start to view TV shows or movies in your target language while a total beginner, you will probably not understand anything. It's only useful for getting to know the sounds of a language and ease your pronunciation by imitation.

Note that I am interested from beginner all the way to master level, so please make the study plan accordingly if you can.
0 x

eido
Blue Belt
Languages: English (N), Spanish (C1)

Re: How do you plunge into learning a language? What is the general study plan for a language?

Postby eido » Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:37 pm

I think it matters what "master level" means to you. There are different ways you can be a master. And I don't think any one of us can give you an exact formula for yourself, because your goals probably differ from ours, especially if you study a different language. There are some helpful posts on this site if you dig. I can't right now because I'm on my phone. Following courses can help in the beginning, I will say. Reading a lot helps. Ultimately I think you should decide your study plan based on people's advice.
1 x

zjones
Green Belt
Languages: English (N), French (B1-certified), Spanish and Greek (abandoned)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=9860

Re: How do you plunge into learning a language? What is the general study plan for a language?

Postby zjones » Mon Sep 10, 2018 10:54 pm