Learning Related Languages - too soon for Russian?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
drp9341
Orange Belt
Languages: Native: English (US)
C1/C2: Spanish, Italian
B2+: Portuguese
B2: French, Polish
A1: Russian, German
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=5978

Learning Related Languages - too soon for Russian?

Postby drp9341 » Thu May 24, 2018 7:09 pm

Hello everyone! (I used the search feature and tried to look for advice on this, but I didn't find anything. I assume that this has already been discussed here, so If this thread is a duplicate, please let me know!)

(You can skip to the bottom for the super-short version of my question!)

I've been studying Polish for around 13 months, 10 of those months I have been living in Poland. I studied like an animal for the first 3 or 4 months, and then slowed it down to about 2-3 hours a day. You can check out my log, where I've been tracking my progress for about a year.

The reason I want to start with Russian now, is because if I go back to the US in exactly 2 years as planned, I won't have the same amount of time and access to native speakers.

External "Assessments" of my Level:
1. The full time Polish teachers at Polish school I took some courses and private lessons at, all told me I was "definitely" B2, and that I shouldn't take the B1 exam offered in June, but the B2 instead.

2. I took a B2 practice exam about ~10 weeks ago, and I passed. Then I had one of the teachers test me on the speaking and writing part. (She specializes in preparing foreigners for the CEFR exams, there's actually a market for this, since passing them is very important for Polish citizenship.) She said I passed the speaking(passed by a good margin) and writing (I forget the numbers, but I remember thinking that if I got "unlucky" I could fail the writing.)

My Assessment of my Level