Approaches to explaining word order: your opinion

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
Uncle Roger
Orange Belt
Languages: Italian (Native), English (as good as you see me write it here?), Norwegian (C1?), French (B2), Swedish (B1?)

Approaches to explaining word order: your opinion

Postby Uncle Roger » Mon May 14, 2018 12:55 pm

Hello!

I have been working for a while on material that can be used to teach Norwegian. A lot of work has gone into the topic of word order.

I started learning about the things that influence word order and I realised each rule can potentially apply to 4 situations
1 - an affirmative sentence
2 - a negative sentence
3 - a question
4 - a negative question

Thus, I started to create examples that contained one or more of the elements that influence word order and see how they would behave in the four different situations.
These elements are
- whether a verb is "single" or whether it has an auxiliary/modal (e.g. "was" vs "has been" or "can be")
- whether the subject is a pronoun or just a noun
- whether direct and/or indirect objects are pronouns or just nouns
- whether there is a subordinate clause and, if so, whether it is placed before or after the main clause

The idea was to then present the material by "element" and then by the 4 aforementioned situations. I liked the approach, it was "mutually exclusive and competely exhaustive", I felt like no more could be done.

Recently, though, I started to think that it would be better to do it by situation and then by element. I think it might be better to contrast a negative question through the various elements. If anything, because the "affirmative" sentence in many cases bears no strangeness to be learned... And at the same time, negative questions are probably lower priority as they are not very common, so I would put them all at the end...

What do you guys think?

I can give some examples if that can help.
0 x