Does anyone have any experience making Goldendict dictionaries?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
indeclinable
Yellow Belt
Languages: Spanish (N), English (C2), German (C1), Latin (C1), French (B2), Ancient Greek (B1), Italian (A2).

Want to study: Japanese & Russian
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=8803

Does anyone have any experience making Goldendict dictionaries?

Postby indeclinable » Sat May 12, 2018 9:49 pm

I have several old, out of copyright dictionaries that I’d like to transcribe but I have no experience in any sort of programming. I’m not computer-illiterate but I feel this could be a bit more than I can chew so I’d like to know if there’s a veteran here that might offer some advice.
0 x
Omnis lingua usu potius discitur quam praeceptis, id est audiendo, legendo, relegendo, imitationem manu et lingua temptando quam creberrime. – Iohannes Amos Comenius

rdearman
Site Admin
Languages: English (N)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1836

Re: Does anyone have any experience making Goldendict dictionaries?

Postby rdearman » Sat May 12, 2018 10:07 pm

indeclinable wrote:I have several old, out of copyright dictionaries that I’d like to transcribe but I have no experience in any sort of programming. I’m not computer-illiterate but I feel this could be a bit more than I can chew so I’d like to know if there’s a veteran here that might offer some advice.

First are they electronic? Or are they on paper. If paper then you'll need to get them scanned in before you can manipulate them.
1 x
: 0 / 150 Read 150 books in 2024

My YouTube Channel
The Autodidactic Podcast
My Author's Newsletter

I post on this forum with mobile devices, so excuse short msgs and typos.

indeclinable
Yellow Belt
Languages: Spanish (N), English (C2), German (C1), Latin (C1), French (B2), Ancient Greek (B1), Italian (A2).

Postby indeclinable » Sat May 12, 2018 10:21 pm