Request advise on choosing and learning a new language.

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
individuo
Languages: Spanish (N), English (B2), French (complete beginner)

Request advise on choosing and learning a new language.

Postby individuo » Sat Jan 20, 2018 9:47 pm

Hello everybody.
I have in mind to start learning a new language, but I am not sure of which one.
It could be German or French, although Italian and Russian are not completely discarded.

My initial idea is to choose between German and French and then go through the FSI courses.
If I choose German I guess I should do the programmed introduction first, and then the basic. And in the case of French, first the phonology and then the basic.
I would also start reading and watching videos when I feel I am up to it.

It would be the first language I studied by myself and my goal is to reach B2 level in 1 or 2 years (That is starting from zero and with 1 hour of study every day).

Now the questions:
1. Is my goal realistic? What I really want is to be able to read books and watch films in the original version without subtitles, I suppose that a B2 level is enough for that.
2. What do you think of my initial idea? Is it possible to start directly with the FSI Basic or my plan is better?
3. Just to help me decide, between FSI German and French, is any of them better than the other?
4. Taking into account that I haven't studied a language by myself before, would it be a terrible idea to pick up two instead of one?

I will give additional information about my language background and thoughts in the next post.
Thank you for your time and help.
3 x
Corrections are very welcome.

Xenops
Brown Belt
Languages: English (N), Danish (A2), Japanese (rusty), Nansha (constructing)
On break: Japanese (approx. N4), Norwegian (A2)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=16797

Re: Request advise on choosing and learning a new language.