best way to keep a vocabulary book

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
reddragon
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Spanish (A1), French (A1), Japanese (beginner)

best way to keep a vocabulary book

Postby reddragon » Wed Aug 09, 2017 5:01 pm

At the moment I am recording new vocabulary by just keeping a list with spanish on one side and english on the other... in no particular order (apart from when they are presented in the material I am studying).. I can foresee I will just end up with one big list of vocabulary with no order etc.... I have attached a screenshot of what I am currently doing (colour coding is based on the origin of the words, e.g top 5000 word list, course book, memrise etc)

How do other people keep track of vocabulary ?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
5 x

reineke
Black Belt - 3rd Dan
Languages: Fox (C4)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=6979

Re: best way to keep a vocabulary book

Postby reineke » Wed Aug 09, 2017 5:33 pm

I prefer to hear the words and if I write things down I usually end up throwing it away.

A long time ago I had a small vocabulary booklet that was pocketable and easily consulted.
I got an A on my Latin exam. I cannot remember five words from that list. The words that I do remember are connected to a story: Terra est stella and Vulpes et uva. Wait, that's more than five words.

I also copied and recopied words, texts and sentences which worked a lot better.

I think that portability beats color coding and other considerations.

You may wish to read about Iversen's list method in the resources. section.

There's also the "Gold list method"

https://huliganov.tv/goldlist-eu/

How to Create a Language Journal – and Actually Learn a Language With It

"You might not want to write down every new word you encounter, but instead just words that stand out to you."