How do I learn a language with depression (severe)

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
Desolate Kat
Languages: English (N)

How do I learn a language with depression (severe)

Postby Desolate Kat » Sun Jul 30, 2017 10:27 pm

I have no Motivation to do ANY thing. I have severe depression. I always want to sleep and watch YouTube videos, but never to study a language anymore. I started Japanese when I was eight, but I never really studied because I never really knew how, but now I just completely gave up on studying. When I try to learn any Language, I get easily discouraged and I give up. What can I do if I feel like this again? Is there a way to stop no motivation?
2 x

rdearman
Site Admin
Languages: English (N)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1836

Re: How do I learn a language with depression (severe)

Postby rdearman » Sun Jul 30, 2017 10:50 pm

I'm no expert on depression. But I think if you can just get yourself to do 15 minutes each day it will mean that you'll eventually learn the language. An acorn doesn't grow into a oak tree over night, but each night it grows a little bit more.
7 x
: 26 / 150 Read 150 books in 2024

My YouTube Channel
The Autodidactic Podcast
My Author's Newsletter

I post on this forum with mobile devices, so excuse short msgs and typos.

Xmmm
Blue Belt
Languages: ru it tr

Postby Xmmm » Sun Jul 30, 2017 11:00 pm

Desolate Kat wrote:I have no Motivation to do ANY thing. I have severe depression. I always want to sleep and watch YouTube videos, but never to study a language anymore. I started Japanese when I was eight, but I never really studied because I never really knew how, but now I just completely gave up on studying. When I try to learn any Language, I get easily discouraged and I give up. What can I do if I feel like this again? Is there a way to stop no motivation?