New member...spanish translation help

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
donkeygoatee
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Spanish (beginner), Irish (once intermediate, now probably regressed to beginner!)

New member...spanish translation help

Postby donkeygoatee » Tue Jun 20, 2017 3:28 pm

Hi...new member here. I'm looking for some advice/feedback about learning from translation. I'm learning Spanish using the Pimsleur course and I want to use bilingual text to complement it. I haven't found much on the internet, but I did find this site which I thought looked useful:

http://www.lonweb.org/daisy/ds-spanish-lorna.htm

But when I started comparing the two versions, I was a bit discouraged. The reason is that even though I'm a beginner, it looks to me like it's not a very good translation. For example:

Daisy no era aún muy conocida pero de vez en cuando recibía llamadas de personas que habían leído su anuncio en un periódico local.

Daisy wasn't very well known yet but occasionally people telephoned her from the advertisement she had put in the local newspaper.