Hours needed to "maintain" a language

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
bpasseri
White Belt
Languages: .
Native: English
Advanced: Spanish, French
Intermediate: Italian, Portuguese
Beginner: Mandarin Chinese
Dabbled: Japanese, Greek, German, Esperanto
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=7995

Hours needed to "maintain" a language

Postby bpasseri » Mon Apr 24, 2017 3:56 pm

Hi everyone!

I studied French for a long time during high school and through the university level, and I would like to keep this as an active language but I don't feel any particular need to improve it at this time and would like to focus on other languages. In your experience, how much time per week do you need to put in to maintain a language at its current level (in this instance, at about a B2)? I would really like to focus on improving my Spanish and Mandarin, but I don't want to neglect French any more than I already have since graduating from college about two years ago.

Thanks for your input!!! :D
2 x
: 1900 / 2500 ES Books
: 390 / 4500 ES Movies

: 480 / 2500 FR Books
: 90 / 4500 FR Movies

: 0 / 2500 IT Books
: 0 / 4500 IT Movies

: 250 / 2500 PT Books
: 360 / 4500 PT Movies

TrioLinguist
White Belt
Languages: English (N), German (C1), French (B1)

Re: Hours needed to "maintain" a language

Postby TrioLinguist » Mon Apr 24, 2017 9:59 pm

How much time per week do you need to put in to maintain a language at its current level?

A language rusts if you don't use it for a period of time, so I think the key is a little bit every day. I don't think it's necessary to study per se, but instead just keep yourself exposed to the language on a daily basis, even if that just means spending 15 minutes every morning reading French-language news, or whatever else you may like to do.
2 x
Read 1,000,000 words out of German fiction novels : 1000000 / 1000000

blaurebell
Blue Belt