How to get past the B2-C1 plateau?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
guiguixx1
Orange Belt
Languages: French (N), English (C2), Dutch (C1), Spanish (C1), Italian (B2), Esperanto (A2), Portuguese (B2), German (A2), Catalan (passively)

How to get past the B2-C1 plateau?

Postby guiguixx1 » Sun Jan 29, 2017 10:07 pm

Hi all!

I need some advice! I'm stuck with my Dutch, I'm around B2-C1 and need to get to a native-like level. I'm studying English and Dutch at university in order to become a teacher next year and I'm doing my MA dissertation in Dutch, I thus need a very high level, but I can't seem to get past a plateau. I have tried studying vocab, I've tried reading newspapers, but it doesn't seem to be working. I still make mistakes even though I know the grammar, and natives never seem to notice my mistakes (only my teachers do). I also have problems improving my academic language use and have a hard time guessing the difference in meaning of words having an almost identical meaning (ex: kiezen/uitkiezen for example). While I have acquired a native-like level in English (or at least decent enough so that I can really feel this language and use it almost as I use French), it's not the case for Dutch yet....

It's been more than a year, maybe even two years since I've reached a plateau and don't seem to make much progress...

If anyone knows any method or has any suggestion, let me know! Thanks in advance!
0 x
Language learning and teaching website as a French teacher of Dutch and English: cameleondeslangues.be

Spoonary
Blue Belt
Languages: English (N)
Español (Adv), Italiano (Int), Esperanto (I try)

Re: How to get past the B2-C1 plateau?

Postby Spoonary » Sun Jan 29, 2017 10:31 pm

How did you reach your current level in English? It might be worth really breaking down what helped you reach such a high level in that language, in order to then apply the same techniques/habits to Dutch.

Obvious advice is obvious :?
7 x