Reasons for choosing the foreign language you have picked

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
Carmody
Black Belt - 1st Dan
Languages: English (N)
French (B1)
Language Log: http://tinyurl.com/zot7wrs

Reasons for choosing the foreign language you have picked

Postby Carmody » Wed Oct 19, 2016 12:41 am

My apologies if this has already been asked, but I am interested in why people choose the foreign language that they have picked to study.

I am not a polyglot but I am studying French because I like the sound of the language and the literature of the country.
2 x

galaxyrocker
Brown Belt
Languages: English (N), Irish (Teastas Eorpach na Gaeilge B2), French, dabbling elsewhere sometimes
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=757

Re: Reasond for choosing the foreign language you have picked

Postby galaxyrocker » Wed Oct 19, 2016 2:37 am

To be honest, I don't really have a good reason for picking Irish. I knew only the stereotypical views of Ireland before picking it up, and am not of Irish descent (because for some reason that stuff matters to Americans), so I really had no reason to pick it up. I had already been oddly interested by Scottish Gaelic, but never would have studied it in depth. However, when I heard Irish could secure my study-abroad place in Ireland, I decided to pick it up. And from there I feel in love with it. The teachers were just super enthusiastic that it rubbed off on me. And then I went and studied in the Gaeltacht, where just the joy of the older people that I was learning it kept me hooked. I've kinda been in love with it since, though I have had periods of burnout.
5 x

Finny
Green Belt
Languages: English...

Postby Finny » Wed Oct 19, 2016 3:14 am

I originally started learning Spanish in high school (well, technically 8th grade) because I wanted to understand what Ricky said in I Love Lucy...