Learning a Language You Don't Love

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
Xenops
Brown Belt
Languages: English (N), Danish (A2), Japanese (rusty), Nansha (constructing)
On break: Japanese (approx. N4), Norwegian (A2)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=16797

Learning a Language You Don't Love

Postby Xenops » Wed Aug 31, 2016 12:53 am

I have a confession: I don't love Spanish. :oops: My motivation for learning it is because would be the most useful second-language to learn and use in the U.S. And, because I studied it for three years in high school, and my attitude has been "I've gotten this far, why shouldn't I go all of the way?"

But I don't love it; yeah, it has a nice sound, but I'm not interested in any of the related cultures, there's no literature or films I'm dying to enjoy in the original language, and I don't even plan to stay in the U.S.; my understanding is that medical laboratory scientists (my future career) are universal, so I plan to move to another country, but I have no interest to move to a predominately Spanish-speaking one.

I'm guessed some of you learned English or some other language of necessity, what has been your experience? Is your learning it for the usefulness justified, or would you encourage others to learn a language only because they love it? At this point, any other language sounds more interesting than Spanish.

For a while I've equated learning a language to a serious, long-term relationship--for better or for worse. Is it okay to break-up with a language where the "love has died"?
5 x
Check out my comic at: https://atannan.com/

James29
Blue Belt
Languages: English (Native)
Spanish (C1-ish)
French (Beginner)
Portuguese (Thinking about it)

Re: Learning a Language You Don't Love

Postby James29 » Wed Aug 31, 2016 1:03 am