Watching (and understanding) movies/tv shows

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
NoManches
Blue Belt
Languages: English - (N)
Spanish - B2 +
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=7942

Watching (and understanding) movies/tv shows

Postby NoManches » Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:01 am

Hi fellow languages learners. This is my first post here and I look forward to any advice I can get.

I have been learning Spanish for about 3-4 years (if you count the first year where I didn't want to learn the language but was forced to take it in college lol). I am somewhat advanced now although I do have my off days and could definitely improve a bunch of different things in the language.

One of the things I NEED to work on is listening comprehension. I can have a conversation 1 on 1 but if there are multiple people or if I am watching a tv show/movie I miss out on a ton of things.

I REALLY want to be able to watch a tv show/movie in Spanish and understand just about everything that is going on, but I don't know how to go about doing this. I know my language skills will go through the roof once I can sit down and watch tv in Spanish and just learn through context.

I'm thinking about sticking with TV shows (instead of movies) so I can get used to the words used/accents/characters, etc. In the past I watched all 71 episodes of Metastasis (with subtitles in Spanish). After, I watched another 60+ episodes of a show from Mexico called "el Mariachi". Of that show about half was with subtitles, and then for the second half I ditched the subtitles because I was spending too much time reading and not enough time listening.

I'm now watching "Club de Cuervos" on netflix. I've watched a few episodes with subtitles adding every new word to anki. I've watched another episode with no subtitles, and another episode only using subtitles when I really need them.