What is the best way to approach Listening-Reading without native language text?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
orangamrk

What is the best way to approach Listening-Reading without native language text?

Postby orangamrk » Sat Jan 30, 2016 4:45 am

I've been looking for weeks and finally found an audio book in my target language. It might be the only one I'll ever have access to. I also have the accompanying text, but no translation exists in English.

My reading ability has been progressing nicely, but my listening skills are terrible, so I really want to make the best possible use of this resource.

I'm an advanced beginner trying very hard to break into the intermediate stage.
0 x

Rotasu
Orange Belt
Languages: English (N),
日本語 (A1)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1354

Re: What is the best way to approach Listening-Reading without native language text?

Postby Rotasu » Sat Jan 30, 2016 4:48 am

If you are working on your listening, why do you need English translation? Just listen and read along
1 x
Gone

orangamrk

Re: What is the best way to approach Listening-Reading without native language text?

Postby orangamrk » Sat Jan 30, 2016 6:13 am

I'm just checking if any of the more experienced language learners have any tips. Most of the guidance for L/R is for people using bilingual texts.
1 x

Star1
White Belt

Postby Star1 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 3:08 pm

What language are you trying to learn? There are audiobooks and translations everywhere, you just need to know where to look.
0 x

James29
Blue Belt
Languages: English (Native)
Spanish (C1-ish)
French (Beginner)
Portuguese (Thinking about it)

Postby James29 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:54 pm