Better to do passive immersion before studying? First time learner

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
FumblngTowardFluency
White Belt
Languages: English (N), Portuguese (beginner)

Better to do passive immersion before studying? First time learner

Postby FumblngTowardFluency » Tue Mar 05, 2024 10:37 pm

Hi, I'm a native English speaker. As a hobby I would like to become fluent in Brazilian Portuguese. This is my first time learning a foreign language.

I'm 36 and will be retiring from tech in summer of 2025. At that time, I'll be able to study Portuguese for 3 hours a day. Until then, I'm working 65 hours/week and only have time to watch an hour of Portuguese videos (with Portuguese subtitles) right before bed.

Is it better to passively absorb an hour of Portuguese videos every day for 15 months, until I can study the language systematically?
Or is it better to wait?

On the one hand, 500 hours of exposure seems very beneficial.
On the other hand, am I risking creating a muddle of incorrect grammar and misheard phonemes in my mind?

Will passively absorbing Portuguese for 500 hours help or hurt when I have time to study seriously?

Thanks very much for your reply.
3 x

rdearman
Site Admin
Languages: English (N)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1836

Re: Better to do passive immersion before studying? First time learner

Postby rdearman » Tue Mar 05, 2024 10:56 pm

Sorry, but if you have an hour to watch a video, then you have an hour to study a textbook, or memorise vocabulary, or read a grammar book, etc, etc. In other words, you can learn a language in an hour per day, and if you did an hour per day, you'll probably be able to have a decent level of language by 2025. So why wait? The best time to plant a tree was twenty years ago, the second-best time is right now. :D
15 x
: 26 / 150 Read 150 books in 2024

My YouTube Channel
The Autodidactic Podcast
My Author's Newsletter