C1 French Listening Without Usual Methods (ADHD)

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
Mirai Le Fey
Languages: English (Native)
French (B2)
Spanish (B1)
Korean (B1)
Arabic (B1 - Yemeni)

C1 French Listening Without Usual Methods (ADHD)

Postby Mirai Le Fey » Mon Mar 04, 2024 5:56 pm

I have been learning French for 3 years and have reached a strong B2 level in the language. Listening is a huge point of frustration for me simply because I can't really do it the way everyone says you should online. I have severe ADHD and that massively affects the way I practice listening.

In English here are the things I do NOT do:

Watch TV/Films (because I can't commit/concentrate for that long)
Listen to podcasts (I can't do this even while on walks since I will get distracted by thoughts + surroundings + be very bored)
Listen to the radio (again, not really a medium I like/enjoy)
Listen to audiobooks (I far prefer written texts since I can read much quicker - when I read books in any language I have to finish it within 2/3 days otherwise there's no chance I will finish it. I read sixteen books last year and every single one was finished with 2 days after gaining a burst of motivation - I simply cannot do the whole 20-pages-a-day-thing)
Listen to music that isn't related to my special interest

These are pretty much all the things that people say to do in order to practice listening in languages. I have noticed I need to complete finite tasks in order to do literally anything. 2 weeks ago I finished my first novel in French, and I read it in 2 days simply because that's the only way I can cope. But I need to be in a super specific mood in order to do that so I can't just give myself a longterm goal of reading a book every week. I can't even do this in English so how on earth am I supposed to do this in another language?