Am I a native speaker of Mandarin?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
allf100
Orange Belt
Languages: Hokkien(mother tongue, yet less fluent than my Mandarin)
Mandarin
English
German(A little)
Japanese(A little)
Persian (A little, completely forgot it.)
Sankrit (Just for alphabet, and forgot them all)

Am I a native speaker of Mandarin?

Postby allf100 » Sat Mar 25, 2023 8:33 am

Hello,

Questions:
- Is English my second language or third language?
- Am I a native speaker of Mandarin?

I'm Chinese from the mainland of China. Hokkien aka Taiwanese is my mother tongue. I started learning Mandarin since I was seven years old when I was almost admitted to the grammar school.

Except for talking to street vendors, shop owners, family, neighbors, most of time I speak in Mandarin. The inner voice of mine is Mandarin most of time. It's a bit of difficult for me to try to express myself in complex ideas in Hokkien. I would say my English is more fluent than my mother tongue Hokkien, because when I write or say something in English, and I usually mostly don't have to translate my words from Mandarin to English mentally.

Hokkien is generally considered as a dialect by Chinese linguists in the mainland of China, while it is considered as a language among many Western linguists as I knew.

Mandarin is an artificial language based on Beijing dialect and Hebei dialect. Just a few people, in term of portion, actually can speak Mandarin perfectly if without training in China. Those professional news anchors of Mandarin who were almost all corrected with their accents in their majors relevant to broadcasting or journalism etc. in universities.

People in the north of China generally mostly can understand with each other in their dialects, and it is something like Dutch speakers can understand the low German dialect of some German speakers. Yet, Hokkien is very difficult for other Chinese people to understand if they don't speak it.