French learning materials for a complete beginner

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
Alfred200303
Languages: Danish (N), English (fluent), German (A2/B1)

French learning materials for a complete beginner

Postby Alfred200303 » Mon Mar 06, 2023 1:20 pm

I would like to learn to read french, primarily for classic literature. I am currently fluent in Danish and English, and perhaps B2 level in German. I would like to study 1 hour every day, and I do not have any budget limit. Currently I am thinking of buying a handful of self-study books and completing them in succession. Perhaps these:

Assimil French Without Toil

70's Assimil French With Ease

Berlitz Self-Teacher

Cortina Method

Does this sound like a sound first step? Do you think I would then be able to moving on to bilingual texts after completing these courses? I have had a lot of success with english/german bilingial texts, but that was on the basis of seven years of german in school.

Thanks for the advice in advance (:
0 x

lavengro
Blue Belt
Languages: English - finally getting a handle on this beast of a language. Also tinkering with a few other languages intermittently.

Re: French learning materials for a complete beginner

Postby lavengro » Mon Mar 06, 2023 3:50 pm

I do not have any advice about any of that material as I used other materials, but just to let you know, Cortina French material (text and audio) is available for free legally at https://fsi-languages.yojik.eu/languages/cortina.html
4 x
This signature space now on loan to the mysterious and enigmatic Breakmaster Cylinder:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUGKldkiex4

tastyonions
Black Belt - 1st Dan
Languages: EN (N), FR, ES, DE, IT, PT, NL, EL

Postby tastyonions » Mon Mar 06, 2023 4:23 pm

I'm not familiar with Cortina but apart from that it looks like a solid list.
0 x

DaveAgain
Black Belt - 1st Dan
Languages: English (native), French & German (learning).