Self-taught study

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
John Dunne
Languages: English

Self-taught study

Postby John Dunne » Wed Aug 31, 2022 11:35 pm

Let's take a student with a low level of English (let's say A2). If he\she practises alone four hours a day for ten months (writing and correction with automatic programmes, grammar exercises, reading and translation of texts, listening to audio with transcription attempt), what level could he\she reach after ten months?
2 x

Iversen
Black Belt - 4th Dan
Languages: Monolingual travels in Danish, English, German, Dutch, Swedish, French, Portuguese, Spanish, Catalan, Italian, Romanian and (part time) Esperanto
Ahem, not yet: Norwegian, Afrikaans, Platt, Scots, Russian, Serbian, Bulgarian, Albanian, Greek, Latin, Irish, Indonesian and a few more...
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1027

Re: Self-taught study

Postby Iversen » Thu Sep 01, 2022 9:36 am

Probably more than A2, but a total burn-out would be more likely. Actually that's much more likely than reaching C2. And I noticed that you included writing, but not speaking (is the learner in question a social recluse?), and there isn't anything about motivation. To do four hours daily for ten months (on top of a job?) you need a good external motivation, or you have to be obsessed with language learning.
11 x

anitarrc
Orange Belt
Languages: Moved around... English + German + Spanish + Dutch + French + Portuguese
used daily
Catalá Russian Serbian: struggling but improving. Bahasa..needs refreshment

Postby anitarrc » Thu Sep 01, 2022 9:57 am