Would you recommend FSI/DLI for French?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
FRAnglais1919
White Belt
Languages: French
English (N)

Would you recommend FSI/DLI for French?

Postby FRAnglais1919 » Sat Jul 30, 2022 4:08 am

I plan on devoting 2-3 hours per day to study French in my free time, and a few hours extra on the weekends. Some of it will be with an online French instructor. I glanced at the DLI/FSI French courses and they look promising. It's not clear which is better for my purposes. But I like the 50+ hours of audio with a French-sounding narrator talking in simple phrases. I might add that I absolutely love reading and dissecting texts, and I don't mind the countless hours of drills and repetitions. I actually find repetitive tasks soothing. Has anyone tried this?

Background: I studied French for about 5 years in the U.S. school system, forgot about it for the next 8, and then picked it back up. I've been "self-studying" for the past year to no avail. My reading comprehension is around early-intermediate level at best (probably between A2 and B1), as is my writing. But speaking and listening are by far the worst. I listened to News in Slow French and One Thing in French a Day podcasts and it's like I've never heard French before. FranceInfo and France Culture were no better—they spoke too fast for me. Same thing with movies (I couldn't understand a word of what was said in La Chèvre, so I shamefully activated the English subtitles 5 minutes in). My goal is to be able to understand complex texts and fast spoken French. I see myself moving to France one day, and learning French is more than just a hobby I've come to enjoy.
1 x

Kraut
Black Belt - 2nd Dan
Languages: German (N)
French (C)
English (C)
Spanish (A2)
Lithuanian

Re: Would you recommend FSI/DLI for French?

Postby Kraut » Sat Jul 30, 2022 9:32 am