Will I learn Italian faster than I've learned French?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
darren
Languages: English (N), French (B2)

Will I learn Italian faster than I've learned French?

Postby darren » Wed Jul 13, 2022 7:50 pm

A bit of context: I started learning French in September of 2020, and am now at a (tested) B2 level. My listening and reading skills are perhaps on the higher side of B2, while my speaking skills lag behind. I started learning the language as I am a fan of pro cycling (where many of the events, of course, take place in France) and because I also plan to travel to France for some vacations. My goals are to reach a solid C1 level, which I believe if I continue studying at the pace that I have been, should take me another year and a half to two years.

Just recently, my wife and I learned that she qualifies to become a (dual) Italian citizen, by descent from her great-grandfather. We have started this process, which all told should take 3-4 years to complete. After she becomes a citizen, I can then also start a separate process to become an Italian citizen as well, because I would then be married to an Italian citizen. BUT, there is a language requirement for those applying for citizenship via marriage: One has to demonstrate a B1 level. My eventual goals are to reach a C1 in Italian also, but I can take the test and get citizenship as soon as I feel comfortable that I'd pass at B1.

So, with all of that context above, for folks who have learned multiple romance languages, do you feel that you proceeded more quickly in that second romance language?
3 x

tractor
Green Belt
Languages: Norwegian (N), English, Spanish, Catalan, French, German, Italian, Latin

Re: Will I learn Italian faster than I've learned French?

Postby tractor » Wed Jul 13, 2022 9:01 pm