Other ways of improving speaking skills apart from…speaking?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
thevagrant88
Orange Belt
Languages: English (N), Spanish (C1) Japanese (FU)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =14564#top

Other ways of improving speaking skills apart from…speaking?

Postby thevagrant88 » Fri Jun 24, 2022 12:18 am

I’ve been studying Spanish for over six years now and I’m still not happy with my speaking skills. For context, I’ve read a dozen or so books in Spanish, watched films and tv shows in Spanish (with Spanish subtitles), played a ton of video games in Spanish, etc. I’m not completely unhappy with my knowledge of Spanish, but I feel like my skills are kinda crap. It’s only when I’m spending of ton of time in the language that I feel more comfortable just jumping into it. Even then, the vocabulary and expressions I use and complexity of my sentences isn’t at all reflective of when I could understand if roles were reversed. Typically this can be alleviated somewhat if I find myself speaking in a full blown conversation, as in it takes me a few minutes of warming up for my brain to comfortably switch into Spanish mode. But just jumping into it at the drop of a hat? Typically when I need it the most? Forget it. And yes, I know nerves are 100% a factor.

The biggest hurdle I have when it comes to getting more dedicated speaking practice is that when the opportunity to use Spanish comes up, it is sporadic and unexpected. I could go weeks without actually needing to use Spanish at work or in my personal life. But when I do, I typically really could use it.

The obvious thing would be to set up time with a tutor or language partner, but my schedule is not consistent Even if I did, it would be once a week and I’d absolutely want to supplement it somehow anyway.