Is there anyone who is learning Sanskrit here?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
tmexa
Languages: English
Want to learn Sanskrit, Tamil, Spanish

Is there anyone who is learning Sanskrit here?

Postby tmexa » Wed Jun 15, 2022 3:04 am

Hello everyone,
I just joined, and I was wondering if anyone here is currently learning Sanskrit.
My goal here is to learn Classical Sanskrit. I am still learning the Devanagari script, and I just learned a few pronouns.
I would appreciate any guidance and/or suggestions.
1 x

zgriptsuroica
Orange Belt
Languages: English (N), French (Advanced, especially reading), Spanish (Advanced), Brazilian Portuguese (Advanced), Japanese (beginner), Icelandic (just starting)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=17372

Re: Is there anyone who is learning Sanskrit here?

Postby zgriptsuroica » Wed Jun 15, 2022 2:06 pm

Not learning it (yet...), but the resource thread is over here. You might also be able to find a study group searching in the study group subforum.
3 x
Genki I: 0 / 12

jeffers
Blue Belt
Languages: Speaks: English (N), Hindi (A2-B1)

Learning: The above, plus French (A2-B1), German (A1), Ancient Greek (?), Sanskrit (beginner)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=19785

Postby jeffers » Wed Jun 15, 2022 2:08 pm

Hello, it would be helpful to hear from you what you are already using for learning Sanskrit, and anything about yourself as a learner, including why you want to learn Sanskrit.

I have Sanskrit down as one of my "learning" languages, but I haven't touched it for years now. Nevertheless, I have a few ideas and suggestions which might help. First of all, I know the Devanagari alphabet very well for Hindi, so I should be able to answer questions about it if need be.