Academic dilemma

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
Thomas32
Languages: italian

Academic dilemma

Postby Thomas32 » Tue Jun 07, 2022 11:56 am

I am an Italian PhD student in philosophy and my supervisor absolutely wants me to give a talk at an international conference at the end of August. The talk will be in Italian but the questions will inevitably be in English. However, I have a very low listening level (I think A2), although I am around B1 in the other skills. I can devote up to eight hours a day to English, but I am afraid that is not enough. What should I do? (There are no interpreters).
3 x

rdearman
Site Admin
Languages: English (N)
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1836

Re: Academic dilemma

Postby rdearman » Tue Jun 07, 2022 2:25 pm

I had a similar problem at a polyglot conference. I'm a native English speaker but I gave my presentation in French. However at the beginning of a presentation I told everyone that although the presentation would be in French, the questions and answers would be in English.

I don't think it's unreasonable for you to tell the audience in advance that they must ask questions in Italian. If someone can sit through a 45-minute presentation in Italian and understand enough to ask questions they should be able to form the question into Italian.
9 x
: 26 / 150 Read 150 books in 2024

My YouTube Channel
The Autodidactic Podcast
My Author's Newsletter

I post on this forum with mobile devices, so excuse short msgs and typos.

Lawyer&Mom
Blue Belt
Languages: English (N), German (B2), French (B1)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=7786

Postby Lawyer&Mom » Tue Jun 07, 2022 3:17 pm

I would cheerfully announce that English listening is difficult for you, ask them to ask questions slowly and bring a stack of index cards so, if necessary, questions can be put in writing.