For those who have done Glossika - Should it be Done Actively or Passively?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
breeda1
White Belt
Languages: English (N) Esperanto (A2) Arabic (A1)

For those who have done Glossika - Should it be Done Actively or Passively?

Postby breeda1 » Tue Mar 29, 2022 6:00 pm

By "passively" I mean while you're doing something that's cognitively not straining such as driving, walking, or cleaning.
By "actively" I mean giving the program you're full undivided attention.
3 x

jeff_lindqvist
Black Belt - 3rd Dan
Languages: sv, en
de, es
ga, eo
---
fi, yue, ro, tp, cy, kw, pt, sk
Language Log: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=2773

Re: For those who have done Glossika - Should it be Done Actively or Passively?

Postby jeff_lindqvist » Wed Mar 30, 2022 5:26 pm

If it's audio only, I don't see why you can't do it passively. When I used the method (→a few years ago), it was text + audio, so I studied in front of the computer / tablet.
3 x
Leabhair/Greannáin léite as Gaeilge: 9 / 18
Ar an seastán oíche: Oileán an Órchiste
Duolingo - finished trees: sp/ga/de/fr/pt/it
Finnish with extra pain : 100 / 100

Llorg Blog - Wiki - Discord

luke
Brown Belt
Languages: English (N). Spanish (intermediate), Esperanto (B1), French (intermediate but rusting)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=16948

Postby luke » Wed Mar 30, 2022 6:21 pm

breeda1 wrote:By "passively" I mean while you're doing something that's cognitively not straining such as driving, walking, or cleaning.
By "actively" I mean giving the program you're full undivided attention.

I tried Glossika for a while, but didn't stick with it long enough to say, "I did it and it works".

Glossika is not FSI, although both have translation drills.