Declensions in MSA

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
jimmy
Green Belt
Languages: ...

Declensions in MSA

Postby jimmy » Sat Oct 16, 2021 12:48 pm

hi,

The book that I read/follow it uses some sentences like these:

simple nominative form:
we use damma for this form and the form is used for definite nouns

nominative form:
we use dammatayn for this form and the form is used for indefinite nouns

simple accusative form:
we use fathah for this form and this form is used for definite nouns

accusative form :
we use fathatayn (double fathah) for this form and the form is used for indefinite nouns.

as you see both accusative and nominative cases are for same usage. Also, simple nominative and simple accusative are for same usage.

or , how / where can I find more comprehensive explanations specifically for this issue?
(preferably with the distinctions between their use)
0 x
Self Taught - Autodidactic

Deinonysus
Brown Belt
Languages:  
• Native: English
• Advanced: French
• Intermediate: German,
   Spanish, Hebrew
• Beginner: Italian,
   Arabic

Re: Declensions in MSA

Postby Deinonysus » Sat Oct 16, 2021 2:11 pm

I think that for this explanation they assume that you are familiar with the terms nominative and accusative so they don't explain the difference. I'll give you some examples:

أَكَلَ كَلْبٌ خُبْزًا
Akala kalbun ḫubzan
A dog ate bread

أَكَلَ ٱلْكَلْبُ ٱلْخُبْزَ
Akala l-kalbu l-ḫubza
The dog ate the bread

In each sentence, the word for dog is in the nominative case because the dog is performing the action (doing the eating), and the word for bread is in the accusative case because the action is done to it (it is eaten). But in the first sentence, the nouns are indefinite, or as your book calls them, "simple". In the second sentence, the nouns are definite.
3 x
/daɪ.nə.ˈnaɪ.səs/

jimmy
Green Belt

Postby jimmy » Sat Oct 16, 2021 2:32 pm