Best Way to Memorize Stories Verbatim

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
Yunus39
Orange Belt
Languages: English (N)
Bangla (Advanced Low ACTFL 060723)
Spanish (dormant)
Ancient Greek

Wishlist:
Scots
Ancient Hebrew
Aramaic
German
Latin
Hindi
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 20#p217017

Best Way to Memorize Stories Verbatim

Postby Yunus39 » Thu Sep 09, 2021 9:09 am

Hi all,
First time poster.

Does anyone have experience memorizing 5-7 minute stories in another language (when at a b1-b2 level)? If so what method did you use?

More info:

I have been learning Bangla (Bengali) in Bangladesh for the last two years mainly using GPA (Growing Participator Approach), though I did spend six months in formal classes after Phase 1 (I regret it). I am currently in Phase 5, but I have to take an exam from an NGO. The exam is content-specific. I have to prepare to tell three 5-7 minute stories. While I do not have to tell them word for word, they want fairly detailed and specific retellings. In the previous exam I memorized a spoken language version of the story and told it. I received a "B" for not being detailed enough.

For the first exam the stories were about 3 minutes. I used a memory palace and mnemonics for most of the words. This was not good from a language-learning perspective, but worked well for the exam. I did the same for the second exam, but combined a bit more rote memorization. I am now taking the 3rd exam, and I memorized the first story using "chunking"/"shadowing" and a memory palace. It was exhausting and by far took the longest amount of time to do.

I am now almost done memorizing the second story using a memory palace and the "first letter of each word" method. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k8k_rNTDjJM)