What ever happened to the audio lingual courses?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
sfuqua
Black Belt - 1st Dan
Languages: Bad English: native
Samoan: speak, but rusty
Tagalog: imperfect, but use all the time
Spanish: read
French: read some
Japanese: beginner, obsessively studying
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... =15&t=9248

What ever happened to the audio lingual courses?

Postby sfuqua » Fri Aug 13, 2021 5:14 pm

Ages ago, on another forum, this community used to be full of people doing FSI, DLI, Pimsleur and other courses.

Way back in the last century, when I was first being trained as a language teacher, I was trained to teach languages using the audiolingual "method". I found it very useful. As a teacher, it was easy to make decisions about what to do next. I found the method effective.

I think people on the old forum who could stand them found the old FSI and DLI courses useful. I know I did. Many people hated them with a passion, but they did produce results.

As a teacher, I know that education is full of fads, and language teaching is no different. There was a fad that went through the field that asserted that Chomsky had somehow proven that the audiolingual method didn't work, and the whole field of audiolingual teaching went out of favor. I think this is a shame.

Does anybody still use audiolingual courses? Does anybody agree with me that they have a place in language learning?

Some recent courses could fit right in to an audiolingual model, Glossika sounds like them with its emphasis on "reps". Pimsleur has always been audiolingual. The whole "chorusing" approach and "shadowing" sound like they are taking much the same approach, drilling until the language becomes automatic.

Any thoughts? I just haven't heard much about this approach for a while, although I do see it mentioned in a few recent posts...
Last edited by sfuqua on Fri Aug 13, 2021 8:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
8 x