*Spanish - The use of Como.

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
DC-DC
Languages: English and Spanish

*Spanish - The use of Como.

Postby DC-DC » Mon Aug 02, 2021 2:56 pm

Hello!

I am completely new to learning languages and have decided to try Spanish.

The word como is confusing me and may seem basic but hopefully somebody can help.

As far as the word translates, i understand it translates to 'As'

But 'Yo como pan' translates to I eat bread. How is this so?

How does the word como have 2 completely different meanings?

Thanks in advance.
Danny.
0 x

Querneus
Blue Belt
Languages: Speaks: Spanish (N), English
Studying: Latin, French, Mandarin

Re: *Spanish - The use of Como.

Postby Querneus » Mon Aug 02, 2021 9:00 pm

That's a normal thing to happen between languages. Languages' words don't match well.

For an opposite example, English "free" is translated differently when you talk about "free beer" (cerveza gratis, something that costs no money) or your "free time" (tiempo libre, related to the freedom to do things). There's also a strong difference in Spanish for "square" when you talk about a "town square" (la plaza) or the mathematical figure with sides of equal length (el cuadrado).
6 x

Cenwalh
Green Belt
Languages: English (N), Spanish (C1), Catalan (B2).
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=12467

Postby Cenwalh » Mon Aug 02, 2021 9:32 pm

This is simply a homophone. We have lots of them in English as well, although they're often spelt differently. To take a word similar to 'como' (meaning 'I eat'), you'll note that the word 'ate' is pronounced the same as 'eight' despite them meaning very different things.

Spanish spelling is much simpler than English because it's regulated, so you don't often see homophones with different spellings (there are exceptions such as 'cómo', and where some letters have the same pronunciations).