Advice on my plan to go from A2 to B2 in French

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
darren
Languages: English (N), French (B2)

Advice on my plan to go from A2 to B2 in French

Postby darren » Mon Jul 12, 2021 6:03 pm

I've been studying French for 10 months and was assessed recently via an online test to be at an A2 level. That assessment seems to match my current day-to-day experiences: I can have basic conversations with my Italki tutors, I can read and understand the main points of French news articles (LeMonde Diplomatique) and listen to A2/B1 podcasts (InnerFrench) and understand all the main points. I watch French TV (Family Business, Lupin) series with French subtitles and probably am only missing some nuance, but I can following the plot along quite well.

Up to this point I have been mainly using Duolingo and Anki. I have studied grammar using Morton's book "English Grammar for Student's of French". I only started using Italki about two months ago, but I believe that it has been very instrumental in my recent progress. All told, I have probably around 300 hours of studying French at this point. I also use a small website that I built for myself to learn the most frequently used French words (It is free to use with no account needed. I'm happy to share the link but I understand that promoting sites is frowned upon in this forum).

As I get closer to "intermediate level" with my French learning, I'm revising my learning approach and plan for going from where I'm at now (~A2) to where I want to be at: a high B2 level, maybe B2/C1. I'm giving myself another almost full two years to get there - as I have a target milestone of vacationing in France in the Summer of 2023.

Looking ahead to my next year I am asserting that with 6-7 hours a week of studying using the following plan that I can go from A2 to a solid B1: