Japanese beginner question: use of 食べます

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
Jinx
Yellow Belt
Languages: English (N), German (adv), varying levels of French, Esperanto, Dutch, Portuguese, Italian, Spanish, Croatian, Catalan, Mandarin, Japanese
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=16835

Japanese beginner question: use of 食べます

Postby Jinx » Sat May 08, 2021 12:50 pm

I am a brand new baby beginner to Japanese, and I have a question about the practical usage of the verb 食べます.

I just did Assimil "Le japonais" lesson 3, which introduces this verb. I listened to the audio first, of which I understood about 90%, and as usual my brain couldn't help but imagine the scenario in which the dialogue was taking place. For some reason I imagined someone running into her friend who was eating breakfast at a café or something, and asking the friend "What are you eating?" (literally "Are you eating [food]?") – and when I read the Japanese, it seemed to confirm this interpretation:

Speaker 1: パンを食べますか。
Speaker 2: 食べます。
(etc., for various types of food)

But the French translation says "Voulez-vous [food]?" – which creates a very different scenario in my mind. If someone's asking "Voulez-vous..." I would imagine that's a server asking a customer what they want to order.

Here's how the translation looks in the book:

Speaker 1: Voulez-vous du pain?
Speaker 2: Oui.

And these two lines in Japanese are parsed into French as follows:

Speaker 1: (pain / [objet] / manger / [question])
Speaker 2: (manger)

Which of these interpretations is correct? When you ask someone a question using 食べます in Japanese, is that generally more along the lines of "What are you eating?" (such as when your and your friend's food arrives at the table and you sociably ask each other "So what did you get?") or is it more like "What would you like to order?"