How Do You Review Material?

Ask specific questions about your target languages. Beginner questions welcome!
Xenops
Brown Belt
Languages: English (N), Danish (A2), Japanese (rusty), Nansha (constructing)
On break: Japanese (approx. N4), Norwegian (A2)
Language Log: https://forum.language-learners.org/vie ... 15&t=16797

How Do You Review Material?

Postby Xenops » Sun Mar 28, 2021 5:35 am

How do you make reviewing previously-studied material fun enjoyable less boring Engaging?

Interestingly, when I searched "review" both on HTLAL and Llorg, very few posts came up. The most interesting one is Active Study time vs Review time, particularly the first post:

ZombieKing wrote:I find that for me, however long I study is about how long I have to review too. This has been a recurring pattern since I started studying more seriously. If I study German for an hour and a half, I'll have to spend maybe 45 minutes to an hour just reviewing all of that, not including the anki reps I do in the morning which take about 15-20 minutes.

Cavesa's recent posts about how med students study lead me to find this PDF: https://www.dmu.edu/wp-content/uploads/Study-Tips-from-the-Perspective-of-a-Medical-Student.pdf the writer suggests reviewing material as many as 5 times in the first 24 hours!

As much as we (me) like to think that once we studied something, we're good...I'm realizing that maybe I need to make review a regular part of my diet. I use Memrise and Anki for small doses of vocabulary, but outside of SRS, I don't have many ideas.

How about you? What's your review routine? It sounds like some programs have reviewing built in, but this is not the case with many textbooks. Do you have a secret to make it less boring?
7 x
Check out my comic at: https://atannan.com/

lysi
Yellow Belt
Languages: English (N), French, Mandarin (Beginner)

Re: How Do You Review Material?

Postby lysi » Sun Mar 28, 2021 9:20 am